March 1, 19:00

Сoncert of musicAeterna: Tchaikovsky, Pärt, Shostakovich, Kancheli


Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840–1893)
String sextet “Souvenir de Florence”, D minor, Op. 70 (1890, 1892)

Arvo Pärt (b. 1935)
Fratres (1977)

solo violin – Olga Volkova

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975)
Chamber Symphony (String Quartet No. 8 in C minor, arranged for chamber orchestra by Rudolf Barshai, Op. 110a, 1967)

Gia Kancheli (1935 – 2019)
“A Little Daneliad” for violin, piano, percussion (ad libitum), and string orchestra (2000)


The chamber composition of the musicAeterna orchestra will perform works of the 19-20th centuries arranged into a single plot. The beginning of the story is Tchaikovsky’s late masterpiece where at the core there lies the motif of memories of a beautiful, but bygone time. It is answered by the opus of the modern classic Arvo Pärt – a melancholic “memory” of the classics as such. Shostakovich’s Chamber Symphony sums up the author’s entire life – not in a nostalgic, but rather in a tragic way. In Gia Kancheli’s “Little Daneliade” based on the music for the films “Kin-dza-dza” and “Tears Dripped”, both the tragedy of human existence and longing for the past are overcome by irony, so appreciated by Shostakovich.


musicAeterna Orchestra, Olga Volkova, Teodor Currentzis, musicAeterna

Сoncert of musicAeterna: Tchaikovsky, Pärt, Shostakovich, Kancheli

Upcoming events