September 26, 20:00

Shostakovich. Symphony No. 14


Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975)

Symphony No. 14, Op.135 (1969) for soprano, bass and chamber orchestra set to the poems by Federico García Lorca, Guillaume Apollinaire, Wilhelm Küchelbecker, and Rainer Maria Rilke.

Soprano: Nadezhda Pavlova
Bass: Alexey Tikhomirov

String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat minor, Op. 138 (1970)

Seven Romances on Poems by Alexander Blok for soprano and piano trio, Op. 127 (1967)

Soprano: Elene Gvritishvili

musicAeterna Orchestra
Conductor: Teodor Currentzis


The new programme of the musicAeterna orchestra and soloists is focused on the late symphonic and chamber works by Dmitri Shostakovich. The composer wrote all three compositions during the long days of his hospital confinement. He concentrated on contemplating life and death, turning away from bodily ailments. An in-depth and mournful study of the meaning and limits of human existence, a fierce protest against non-existence is the central theme of the Seven Romances on Poems by Alexander Blok, the Quartet No. 13, and — in particular — the Symphony No. 14.


Nadezhda Pavlova, Alexey Tikhomirov, Elene Gvritishvili, musicAeterna orchestra, Teodor Currentzis


September 26, 20:00

Shostakovich. Symphony No. 14