Franz Schubert
Octet in F major, D. 803

  1. Adagio – Allegro – Più allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegro vivace – Trio – Allegro vivace
  4. Andante – variations. Un poco più mosso – Più lento
  5. Menuetto. Allegretto – Trio – Menuetto – Coda
  6. Andante molto – Allegro – Andante molto – Allegro molto


Eight instruments, including clarinet, strings, French horn and bassoon, are not often found on the same stage. On May 18 and 19, eight soloists of musicAeterna will gather together to perform Franz Schubert’s famous Octet. With just a little larger scale, it would have become a symphony (but the Great Symphony was the next step), while the popular Beethoven’s Septet, in dialogue with which Schubert composed his work, was on a slightly smaller scale. Count Ferdinand Troyer, a remarkable amateur clarinetist, like many, loved Beethoven’s Septet and commissioned Schubert a work as similar to it as possible. The result was not a copy, but a new masterpiece.


musicAeterna orchestra, Sergey Eletsky, Talgat Sersembaev, Leonid Voznesensky, Ilya Gaisin, Anastasia Strelnikova, Irina Sopova, Wendy Carlos, Evgeny Rumyantsev


May 19, 21:00

Octet. Schubert